crafting in O(n!) time

Download Free Japanese Pattern Books Scans

Posted on: October 24, 2009


Ondori, Keito Dama, Nihon Vogue, Let’s Knit Series… These names sound familiar? Are you in love with Japanese pattern books just like me and depressed that they are so hard to find? Then giftjap.info is the site you’re looking for.

Here’s a screen shot of the site:

screen shot

The site holds a huge archive of scans of different Japanese magazines and pattern books. Name it they have it: knitting, crochet, beading, amigurumi, sewing, embroidery, patchwork, basketweaving, fashion magazines, nail art, home deco, cooking, origami, etc.

All you  need to do is learn how to navigate the site (because it’s written in Russian, I think) and you’re okay. Oh and you should have a software that can open .rar files such as WinRar or 7-zip, both of which are FOSS (free and open source software).

Here are some of the pattern books found on the site:

I’ve written a short tutorial on how to navigate the site:

Demistifying the navigation bar

scrn shot

Click on the tab to display all the magazines/books in that category. You will get a lot of results. Clicking on the bigger tabs will display ALL the books in that particular category. If you click CROCHET, it will display all books in crochet and knitting (don’t know why they’re joined together).

Clicking on the links below the big tabs, however, does not narrow the results. It displays all the books under that category, just like the big tabs. For example, clicking on the Apparel link displays all books for clothing whether it be crochet, knitting or sewing.

The site does not support searching its archives so I advise you to visit this site if you have a lot of spare time.

Back in the tutorial, Downloading a Book

Once you have found a book you want to download, you should click the “More Details” link found beside the titles and details of the book.

dl1

This would bring you to a page with more details about the book including some of the pages found in the book and the DOWNLOAD links which are written in English! Hooray!

There’s a box for the comments, if you would want to leave a comment and below it are pictures of pages from other books you might like!

Hope you enjoy this site as much as I do!

P.S. REAL BOOKS ARE BETTER THAN EBOOKS. If you have the means to buy these books , please buy it. Let us support the designers of these books and their publishers so that they can continue to publish these books that we love.

29 Responses to "Download Free Japanese Pattern Books Scans"

Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of
your useful information. Thanks for the post.
I will certainly return.

There are many companies that are out there that provide a lot
of information on Albumins and will give advice as to its
use. Staying young is an inescapable fact that is brought to our attention every time we pick up a magazine,
watch a television commercial or go shopping. They are, however,
very important, as they help to increase collagen production.

Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to give something back and help
others such as you aided me.

I was more than happy to find this site.
I need to to thank you for ones time just for this fantastic
read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and
i also have you book-marked to see new stuff on your website.

thanks a bazzilion to you O guiding light. am enjoying the knitjap site and still purchasing japanese knitting books from my LYS particularly now that they expanded collection.

Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was
super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for newbie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

too bad they’re not free now :( anyone, could help us find the free version? thanks

There are still a lot that are free – just click on the free tab at the top of the page – 1000’s still free.!

Hi and thanks for submitting this. It answered plenty of problems that I had.

i just found out moments ago that… the site don’t have downloadable links anymore! they’re all for sale D:
omg it’s so devastating.

The website can now be in English, yay!!! XD

i cant find the website..says its not available :(

Hello there, I discovered your website by means of Google while looking for a related topic, your site got here up, it seems to be good. I have added to my favourites|added to bookmarks.

wow! thank’s for the great information! i do love this! :D

by the way, you could find the ‘english’ option to change the language. simply, click it (it’s in the right corner of the page) and bum! you can read almost everything :)

Wow, thanx so much b/c i did not notice the english link at the upper right side of the page. I mean i did go through all 50 pages of crochet/knit books available before I read this comment but it will help me from now on lol…..Also just wanted to thank zammy for posting the link to this page. Japanese books are the only ones I’ve found with official HK crochet patterns. So I am so excited plus I found so much else. Thanx a million!

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! :D :D :D

Thanks for a great link & your helpful tute.

Great review! This is exactly the type of article that should be shared around the web. Sad on the search engines for not ranking this post higher!

thank you so much..! terima kasih (in malay)…

Tq 4 sharing

Hello there! What an amazing find! Thank you so much for posting this site. In return, I´ll recomend you this site: http://iskusa.blogspot.com/ although you maybe already know it. If you have any problem with spanish, I can help you (I´m from Argentina).
Maybe you can help me with this: I want to download this book

http://giftjap.info/e-magazin/detailed.php?n=171&page=1&ni=2475

but I can´t find the options to do it! If you have a clue, please help me!

Awesome site! Thanks for the great link. For future reference, you can translate most pieces of a website by taking the url or site address and paste it in a google search. Next to the title it should have a link that says [translate this page]. Hope that helps you some :)

thank you so much for the link!! i’ve been looking for scans of the Pattern Magic books for so long, i was so curious of what the books contain..and now i’ve found them on that link :) you’ve made my day!

Thnak you very much for your tutorial.
Kisses

Thank you for sharing… I’ve been looking for this… :D

Thanks a load?I cant thank you enough.
Its like a dream come true.Am always for look out for books or designs and here u posted this tutorial and links.
Love it!

Excelent… thank you very much

THANK YOU SOOOO MUUUUCCCHH!!!
Love it!! Love it!! Love it!! Love it!! Love it!! Love it!!

Thank you so much – In general each book is around $18/20 plus shipping which makes it hard to get more than a couple – This is awesome though (I’ll still buy the books that I love and this way I can browse and find more!)

Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi, welcome to my not-so-all-about-craft blog and to my world.

I'm a proud self-taught stitcher! I learned crocheting from the Crochet for Dummies book and knitting from youtube and knittinghelp videos.

I'm a also 3rd year college student from the University of the Philippines in Diliman, Quezon City.

I live in the suburbs and I dream of going to beaches during vacations.

Other Home on the Net



find my book collections at



Ask me anything XP

http://www.formspring.me/stitchandmuse

Blog Stats

  • 91,718 hits
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

