crafting in O(n!) time

Knitting and Crochet Patterns for “Barbie”

Posted on: October 26, 2009


Creating clothes for my dolls is one of my favorite crochet/knitting activities especially for my Barbie and other fashion dolls.

Clothes for these 11 1/2″ inch high dolls are inexplicably expensive when bought in toy stores and department stores. And most of the clothes sold for these dolls have very simple design and construction.

Thankfully, there are a lot of free patterns on the web for these dolls. Most of the clothes can be made using crochet thread and a 1.5 mm hook or 2mm to 3mm knitting needles.

I really like making these small simple projects because they’re super cute and require only  a few hours to create. Plus the fact that crochet thread is the staple crochet material here, it is considerably cheap and comes in a lot of yummy colors.

Here are my favorite sites to get patterns for Barbie clothes:

1. Sticka till Barbie (Knitting patterns only)

This site has a thousand of free knitting patterns for fashion dolls. I’m not kidding, there are a thousand free patterns for personal use.  This site is my absolute favorite site. The designs are really pretty and you have a lot of designs to choose from: dresses, gowns, bathing suits, tops, skirts, pants, shorts. They even have a separate archive for accessories like hats, shoes, bags, scarves, etc.! Most of the patterns are for Barbie-sized dolls (11 1/2″) but the site also holds patterns for Bratz-sized dolls, Kelly and Ken dolls.

The patterns are downloadable in .doc format and you can choose which version to choose because they come in 6 languages:  Danish,  Dutch, English, French, Norsk, and Spanish.

Here are some of my favorite designs (pictures from the site):

2. Barbie Basics

If you’re new to knitting and crocheting (like me) I suggest that you visit this site first because the free designs are really basic, but all of them are really pretty too. It’s a good platform for creating your own designs because the patterns are easily customizable.

The patterns found on this site is not limited to just Barbie, they have Kelly, Ken, Skipper, Ellowyn Wilde and Marley Wentworth, 18″ fashion dolls, 7″ Madame Alexander, Crissy, Velvet, Brenda Starr & Tyler, Kitty Collier & Tiny Kitty Collier, and Our Generation type dolls.

Most of the patterns on this site for Barbie, Kelly and Ken is for free but they have patterns for sale too, so check them out.

Other notable sites:

Bev’s Country Cottage

Crochet For Fashion Dolls – contains links to different sites with patterns (some are broken, though)


2 Responses to "Knitting and Crochet Patterns for “Barbie”"

Creating patterns for your barbie doll is quite difficult but in some aspects if you are willing to learn on how to have a good results for your barbie dolls here’s my online site for you.

thank you very much
you are realy nice

Leave a Reply

About Me

Hi, welcome to my not-so-all-about-craft blog and to my world.

I'm a proud self-taught stitcher! I learned crocheting from the Crochet for Dummies book and knitting from youtube and knittinghelp videos.

I'm a also 3rd year college student from the University of the Philippines in Diliman, Quezon City.

I live in the suburbs and I dream of going to beaches during vacations.

Other Home on the Net



find my book collections at



Ask me anything XP

http://www.formspring.me/stitchandmuse

Blog Stats

  • 93,302 hits
I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

